Julie & Julia

Julie & Julia was released in 2009 staring Amy Adams & Meryl Streep.  2 fantastic actresses in my opinion.  Have ya seen Meryl Streep in Sophie’s Choice?  Dear Lord!  If you are having a bad day with your kids, pop that tear jerker in.  You’ll never let go of them again!

But back to Julie & Julia.  I have mentioned that I like classic movies, but I also like movies that take you back in time & this movie does that.  It compares the parallel lives of Julia Child, renowned French chef & one of the first tv chefs…way before Food Network was even thought of …& Julie Powell, a regular girl living day-to-day life & discovered cooking was her therapy.  She brought the challenge upon herself to cook her way through Julia’s cookbook within a year & blog about her progress.

She not only learns how to make many fabulous dishes, she learns a lot about herself, mainly that she is NOT a nice person & she needs to quit being so self-centered.

I love getting to go back to France in the late 40’s & see how Julia Child got her start.  I never knew much about her because frankly I found her annoying.  But through watching the movie I developed a respect for her moxie.  I’m not going to run out & buy her cookbook & take the same challenge Julie did because I know my limits, but I am taking the challenge of being a nicer, less self-centered person.  Being a Generation X’er, that will be hard to do, but something that will not only benefit me, but also my family!

Who else has seen this movie?  I’d love to hear what you’ve taken away from it.

sjb

5 thoughts on “Julie & Julia

  1. Sara – Good for you!! Living the simpler life definitely sounds like a dream most days, but definitely one worth fighting for!!

    I recently read a book you may enjoy very much. Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are – check it out !!

    • Thanks Becky! I WILL have to check that out! Living simple is hard…ha, ha! But like you said, well worth the fight! I appreciate things SO much more now!!

  2. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted
    to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

