New Adventures In Daycare

As  I mentioned in an earlier post, I run a daycare from my home.  I’ve been doing this for the past 12 & 1/2 years, which not so coincidently is the same age as my oldest daughter. 🙂  After she was born I just couldn’t go back to work, but we could not afford to lose my income, so I melded mommyhood & earning a living into one!

I’ve always been good with kids, but mostly babies.  Just something about them melts my heart.  I’ve been spit up on, pooped on, threw up on, peed on & spit at by babies with mouthfuls of mushed peas & I’ve loved every minute of it.

I’m writing about my daycare today because I’m excited about the changes I am going to make.  I ran across this website that gives tips & ideas on how to teach babies.  Did you know you can teach a baby to read by 12 months old? That is fascinating to me!!  As I read on, I realized I’m already doing some of the things suggested with the babies already in my daycare.  But I’ve learned how to take what I do, such as cuddle time & reading stories, a step further to really stimulate an infants brain & help them to become excellent life long learners.

I’m very excited about this new direction my daycare will take! And it seems I found that website at just the right time because I already have 2 little guys here to start teaching!  I’ve always been at a loss for setting up a routine for babies during their awake time, but now I have one & I’m looking forward to getting started!

Here are some of the things I will be doing with the babies:

Tactile Stimulation

This is simply exploring different textures around us.  Soft, hard, rough, smooth etc.  Babies love to touch & feel.  I love the look on their faces when I switch a texture on them!

Visual Stimulation

Babies as early as 3 months old will respond to different colors.  The best colors to use are red, black & white. Just showing them these contrasting colors will stimulate eye & brain development.

Auditory Stimulation

By reading, singing, speaking the names of different objects that surround a baby, you are setting the foundation for early reading.  When reading books especially, by saying every syllable, it helps a baby to recognize words very early.

Physical Development

This is an easy one because we get a lot of activity time at my daycare.  I have a large open outdoor area, so in good weather we are always outside swinging, running & playing games. For infants it is a little more challenging because some babies do not like the feel of grass or sand which makes crawling through it uncomfortable for them.  But swinging is a great way to teach balance!  And all babies love to swing!

I will be implementing these new stimulation practices into my daycare starting today!  It isn’t hard because like I said, I already do a lot of these things anyway, I  just need to take a few of them a step further.  It will be interesting to see how well the babies respond to the improved methods! From time to time I will make an update on the blog to let you know how it’s going!

sjb

2 thoughts on “New Adventures In Daycare

Leave a Reply

