Eat Clean Egg Muffins

I have an 8th grader that is doing summer weight lifting, basketball and volleyball camps, practicing her shooting at home and plays on a Wed. night basketball league. Oh, and swims in her down time! Our normal breakfasts of Captain Crunch and lunches of Hot Pockets are not going to cut it anymore!

I went on a search for recipes that are more healthy, full of protein and most important, easy to make AND eat! I found http://www.heandsheeatclean.com. They have a bunch of yummy looking recipies that were just what I was looking for.

Today I made the Eat Clean Muffins. I will post the recipe below, or you can follow the link above for even more great recipes. My daughter is at weights right now, so I quick made up a batch for her to eat when she gets home. It should provide her the protein & green veggies she needs to fuel up for her basketball practice @ 2pm!

I thought I’d blog about it today because I know there are lots of parents like me that want their kids to start eating healthier, but they need it to be fast and easy for both us! I have ordered an Eat Clean cookbook so I can make even more healthy meals and snacks for my family! Very excited about it and I plan to share what I like and what I don’t here on my blog! I hope you come back and share your recipies, ideas tips and tricks too!

This is just part one of a happier, healthier me! More to come, so stay tuned!

Love ya kids!

Simplysjb

Eat Clean Egg Muffins

Ingredients:

Olive Oil Spray (Pure Olive Oil)

4 scallions (or green onions)

minced 2 carrots, shredded

1/2 red bell pepper, minced

1/2 zucchini, shredded

14 egg whites

4 whole eggs

1/2 tsp basil

1/4 tsp oregano

Dash of sea salt and pepper
Directions: 1.  Preheat oven to 375 degreesF. Coat a 12-muffin tin with a small amount of olive oil spray to prevent sticking. 2. Combine vegetables in a big bowl. Fill each muffin tin 2/3 full with vegetables.

3. Whisk eggs and seasonings in a large mixing bowl. 4. Use a 1/3-measuring cup for the egg mixture and pour slowly into each muffin tin. Egg mixture should fill tin the rest of the way. Bake for 30 minutes or until muffins have risen and are slightly browned. Serve.

The site says they keep in the fridge for up to one week. You can also freeze them. But I am betting they will be gone within the day in this household!

One thought on “Eat Clean Egg Muffins

  1. Great job Mom! My daughter said she wants to s tart eating healthier, the other day, because she sees me eating healthier. I listed the “off-limits” foods and I thought her 11 year old head was going to explode! LOL We started with introducing more healthy snacks and finding alternatives to “bored” eating. We will gradullay work on the pastas and breads she loves too much, switching them out for better alternatives Great post. Looking forward to more recipes and reviews from you (and your daughter)!

Leave a Reply

