Another Eat Clean Recipe: Bahmi Special

I received The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook 2: More Great-Tasting Recipes That Keep You Lean by Tosca Reno the other day and immediately paged through it to see if there was something I could make that evening for supper. I found that I had “most” of the ingredients for Bahmi Special, so when I write out the ingredients list, I will mention what I subbed and what I didn’t use for this meal. It was a hit with the whole family!!

5 Tbsp EVOO, divided

Pinch of Sea Salt

2 Skinless Chicken Breasts, cut into cubes

1 package Mie Noodles, or any Asian style noodles (I used Ramen Noodles :))

1 package Conimex Sajoeran Kering* (there is a recipe down below to sub for this ingredient)

1/2 tsp garlic powder

8 Brussels Sprouts, sliced thin (I left these out)

2 Leeks, whites only, chopped

2 small sweet onions, coarsely chopped

2 Broccoli stems, coarsely chopped

1 thick carrot, coarsely chopped (I used shredded carrots from a package)

2 whole eggs + 2 egg whites, whisked together (I omitted this because I ran out of time to make the omelet strips)

1. Heat a tbsp of EVOO in a pan, add cubed chicken and cook for 10-12 min.

2. Boil water for noodles, add a pinch of sea salt and tbsp of olive oil. Add noodles and cook til done.

3. Put 2 tbsp olive oil in a pan or wok to fry vegetables. Add 1/2 tsp garlic powder to the olive oil. Add vegetables and cook until the onions are soft. Add the chicken and Sajoeran Kering* mixture.

Continue to cook until all ingredients are heated through.

5. Place a tbsp of olive oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Add egg mixture into the pan and make an omelet. When it is golden brown on both sides, remove from pan and cut into long strips. Place strips on a serving platter.

6. Mix the chicken/vegetable mixture with the noodles and serve with omelet strips ontop.

Calories: 406, Protein: 19g, Carbs: 57g, Total Fat: 12g, Sugar: 3g

*Substitute for Sajoeran Kering:

1/4 c. Hoisin Sauce (we actually used Hendrickson’s vinegar & olive oil salad dressing & it was great!)

1 tsp sea salt

2 tsp onion powder

1 tsp ground ginger

2 tsp coriander

2 tsp cumin

This reminded me of a Chicken Chow Mein meal at a Chinese restaurant we used to go to when we were dating. Very flavorful and the whole family liked it!!

Enjoy kids!! If ya make it, I’d like to hear how it turned out for you!

Leave a Reply

