The Bully Movie review

Hi ya, Kids! I’ve got a lot on my mind this week. So much so that I don’t even know where to start because I want to share it all with you here on the blog. I guess I’ll break it down into two separate blog posts.

I want to start off by saying this weeks Organized Home challenge from Toni at Bowl Full of Lemons is the garage. We do have a 2 car garage, and yes, it is a mess, but it is an organized mess…if that makes any sense. My husband and I drive 2 big pick-ups, not by MY choice, but I digress…and they do not fit into our garage. So our “house garage” is used for storage of multiple things: bikes, coolers, sports equipment and wood for our wood burning stove, that is also in the garage. So since my garage is organized by our standards, I don’t think it fits the organization plans at bowl full of lemons. 🙂 I said all this to say, I’m skipping this weeks challenge. Yes, I could clean it, but I have a lot more important things on my mind this week.

Which leads me to the topic of part one of the two-part post this week. The Bully Movie. I took my daughters & some of their friends to see it this weekend. We were all deeply affected by this movie. I was shocked to see that one of the families in the movie are from Sioux City, Ia. That is a 45 min. drive from here and a town we do most of our shopping in. We aren’t used to seeing places so close to home show up in a movie. Especially a movie about bullying.

That family is the one that affected me the most. Their son was born at 28 weeks gestation and wasn’t expected to live 24 hours. But he did. 13 years later, he was the target of bullies because of his appearance. If only these bullies would take a minute to find out why he looked the way he did. His appearance should be a badge of honor for his fight to survive his infancy, but instead it is the cause of ridicule. His own sister said the kids in her school didn’t like him because he was creepy. When his mother said that if someone would just take the time to get to know him, he’d be the most loyal friend on earth to them, I could relate. I’ve had that same feeling when people target my own children.

Another family in the movie were Kirk & Laura Smalley of Oklahoma. We were blessed to have the family in the audience with us Sunday afternoon. After the movie, Kirk took time to speak with us. Their 11 year old son, Ty, committed suicide because he couldn’t handle putting up with bullies anymore. This family loved their son with all their hearts. They love each other. It is obvious just by looking at them they are a family that are all about supporting and loving each other. But still, with all that love surrounding their son, he felt he couldn’t go on anymore because of mean kids. You can feel Kirk’s pain in his voice as he speaks. As he said, by watching this movie with us, he had to bury his son all over again, since Ty’s funeral is shown in the movie. No one should ever have to go through this. No mean person should have the right to make another child feel so helpless and feed up that the only option they feel they have is suicide.

So how do we stop this problem? That has been my question for years. You can’t stop the bully. They will either amp up their actions or they will move onto someone else. Solves your immediate problem, but the goal should be to stop them from hurting anyone. You can talk to parents and school officials, but as seen in the movie, that does not seem to go very far. The blinders that are on school officials in the movie is highly disturbing. So Kirk said to one girl who asked this question…what do we do…be the change. Be the one that reaches out to a kid that is being picked on. Speak up when you see it. Call that bully a bully. Get a teacher or another adult. Sit by the kid at the lunch table that no one will sit by. Talk to the new kid. Make a difference by answering all the bullies negative actions with positive ones.

I am reading the book, Chain Reaction; A Call to Compassionate Revolution by Darrell Scott, the father of Rachel Scott, whom I mentioned in a previous post as being the 1st victim of the Columbine shootings. The whole book is full of ideas of how to be that positive change. It’s not hard. It just takes effort and a little guts! I know it’s hard to stand up to a bully, but the more you do it, the easier it will be. It’s time to stop letting the bullies steal your joy. If standing up to them isn’t something you could ever do, then reach out to others like you that are being left out, called names, shoved, put down. Be their friend. Flash them a smile, a pat on the back. Just a small act of kindness can let them know that the whole world isn’t like that one bully or that small group that thinks they are so great because they can get a few laughs at the expense of others. One by one we can out number the negative with a positive!

Keep up the awareness, kids!

My next post will be dealing with changing attitudes at home. Strengthening a marriage and the family bonds. You can’t expect your child to treat others well if they aren’t being treated well at home or are in an environment that is always negative.

Until next time, kids!

Love ya!

sjb

One thought on “The Bully Movie review

  1. Awsome blog Sar. Just talked to a Stanton mom, her daughter is also a victim of bullying! She will be getting in touch with you! Love ya honey–

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

