Bulk Meal Prep

I’ve been hearing a lot about bulk meal prep lately. The idea is the take one day out of your week and cook and prep as much of your meal as you can then store it until you are ready to serve it. I’ve never done this, but have always thought it was a great idea if you had a whole day to devote to cooking, which I normally don’t. But because my meal planning this week utilizes the crockpot a lot, and because I seem to have a lot of crockpots…I decided to give this a try!

Here are 4 meals I have prepped for this week and it only took me 30 minutes:

Saturday

Hamburgers and brawts on the grill

I have pre-mixed the hamburgers in a bowl and will let them sit in the refrigerator until 20 minute before grill time.

My hamburger mix is:

2 lbs. Hamburger

A few dashes of Worcestershire sauce

Uncle Dave’s Steak and Burger seasoning (to taste)

1 egg, beaten

Serving with Ore-Ida sweet potato fries.

Sunday

Crockpot Chili

1 lb. Hamburger

1 can chili beans in mild sauce

2 cans diced tomatoes for chili

1 jar mild salsa

Fill the empty salsa jar half full of water and add to the crockpot

Simmer on low all day. When it’s done I’ll unplug it, let it cool and store it in the refrigerator until one hour before supper time. One hour before supper time, I will plug the crockpot in to reheat and serve it with warm cinnamon rolls.

Monday

French Dip Sandwiches

In another crockpot I am cooking a 3lb arm roast seasoned with salt and pepper.

I added 2 cans of Campbell’s French Onion soup and one can of Campbell’s beef broth.

This will simmer all day. I will shut it off, shred the meat, put it back into the crockpot and store in the fridge until 1 hour before supper. All I need to do is plug the crockpot back in and reheat for an hour. While the meat mixture is reheating, I’ll saute some onions. I’ll be serving them on hoagie buns from our stores bakery, topped with provolone cheese and the sauteed onions. Before I put the top half of the hoagie bun on the sandwich, I’ll put them under the broiler long enough to melt the cheese.

Tuesday

BBQ‘d Pork Sandwhiches

3lb pork butt roast

1 large bottle of Uncle Dave’s Sweet and Sassy bbq sauce

1 bottle of Dr. Pepper

Pour enough bbq sauce to cover the bottom of your crockpot

Place pork roast in crockpot and cover with the rest of the bbq sauce then pour the bottle of Dr. Pepper around the roast.

Let simmer all day. I’ll do the same with this roast that I did with the beef roast. Shred the meat and return it to the crockpot, store in the fridge until one hour before supper, then reheat.

I’ll be serving these with cheesy broccoli and home made coleslaw. The sandwiches taken on a whole other level of yummy if you top the sandwich with your coleslaw!

French Dips, Hamburgers and BBQ Pork sandwiches.
My 3rd crockpot is across the room. I ran out of plug-ins!

So now I’ve got 4 meals done and ready to go shortly before meal time with little prep work to do in the evenings. I’m going to be so grateful to not have to “cook” this week! Do you do this bulk meal prep each week? If so, what do you make? I would love some more ideas so I can keep this up! 🙂

Normally I write these posts in the evening and post them the next day, but we are in the 2nd quarter of the Husker game and we’re winning 35-0, so I got bored.

GO BIG RED!

Happy Saturday, Kids! Til next time!

sjb

3 thoughts on “Bulk Meal Prep

Leave a Reply

