Count Your Blessings, Even In Moments of Struggle!

It’s November 1st already! The year is coming to a close quickly and the holidays are approaching just as fast!  (54 days til Christmas!) Sorry, I just put a little panic in your day, didn’t I?

As I’ve gotten older, Thanksgiving has become my favorite holiday. I love gathering together with family that I don’t get to see very often. I love the food! And I love that there aren’t gifts involved. No stress and pressure to find, buy, wrap and deliver the perfect gift. The purpose of Thanksgiving is to simply gather together and be thankful for all the Lord has given you. We gather with family because that is most commonly everyone’s first blessing. 🙂

On my blog for GCH today, I wrote about counting your blessings. But not just when things are ducky. The lesson in our study was to count your blessings in the midst of trial. Sounds impossible doesn’t it? It is hard to do, but not impossible. Think back on a hard time in your life. Going through it was painful and you may have felt helpless at one point. Maybe you felt the bad times would never end. But when they did, could you see a purpose for your pain? Did you come away with a lesson learned? Were you left feeling stronger as a person, or did you recognize you were put through something to show you that what you were wanting wasn’t what you were needing?

In our online bible study group I shared one of my biggest trials. As most of you know, I run a daycare from my home. I’ve been doing it for 13 years and I’ve never had trouble filling spots. When the recession/depression hit, all my daycare kids were old enough to go to school, leaving my daycare empty. It took me 2 years to fill up again because everyone was either laid off or taking their children to family members to watch. We had just moved to a larger home with a larger mortgage payment and now I was left virtually unemployed! We had to learn to be very frugal and we went without a lot of things. But during that time, the Lord put 2 short stories on my heart and I told them, since I had nothing but time on my hands! They aren’t best sellers, but to me, it’s the biggest personal accomplishment in my life. Writing those books helped me find my love for blogging! 🙂 But our biggest lesson learned was we didn’t need much to get by. All the extras we were used to were nice, but when you have to do without, you learn about the things that are truly important. Good health, happiness, love for one another, beautiful days to play outside. All things that are blessings from God and FREE! It made us stronger and closer as a family and our girls learned some lessons on want verses need. Lessons I think will benefit them throughout life.

Please read my blog today over at GCH: Blessed Doesn’t Mean Easy. Take some time to reflect on your life and see what God has blessed you with, even when you didn’t realize you were being blessed!

Til next time, Kids!

sjb

 

3 thoughts on “Count Your Blessings, Even In Moments of Struggle!

Leave a Reply

