Italian Meatball Soup

CWPW = Cooking With Pioneer Woman. 🙂 Today I am sharing her Italian Meatball Soup recipe. It is the 1st thing I have made from her new cookbook, The Pioneer Woman Cooks, Food From My Frontier.

This was our New Years Eve supper. It was pretty cold yesterday & since we had spent a good bit of it outside, I wanted something HOT and soothing for supper! There is nothing more soothing than soup! Here is the recipe as Ree wrote it…I had to make adjustments because my husband hates Italian seasonings of any kind. So I will mention in the recipe the things I left out. 😉

1231121646

 

3/4 pound ground beef

1 large egg

2 garlic cloves

7 tablespoons minced fresh parsley

2 teaspoons lemon juice

1/4 teaspoon salt, plus more to taste (not necessary! seemed salty enough without adding more)

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon ground oregano (left out)

1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for serving

3 tablespoons olive oil

7 cups low sodium beef stock

2 heaping tablespoons tomato paste

2 whole bay leaves (left out)

1 teaspoon peppercorns (left out)

3/4 cup diced onion

3/4 cup diced carrots

3/4 cup diced celery

1 cup russet potato (just realized I left this out! doh!)

1/2 pound cabbage, sliced

Make your meatballs by mixing the ground beef, egg, garlic, 3 tbls. of parsley, the lemon juice, salt, pepper, ground oregano, and grated Parmesan in a bowl.

Roll into 1 inch balls.

In a large pot (I used my new dutch oven!) heat the olive oil over medium – high heat. Brown the meatballs in batches, turning to brown 3-4 min. per batch. They don’t have to be cooked all the way through because they will finish cooking when added back to the soup.

When the meatballs are done, remove them from the pot and add the beef stock. Add some salt to taste. (I did not do this.)

Stir in the tomato paste.

I skipped this next step:
Make a bouquet garni with the bay leaves, peppercorns and the 4 remaining tbls. of parsley. Tie up in cheesecloth and add it into the soup.

Bring the soup to a boil, then reduce heat and let it simmer for 30 min.

Remove the bouquet garni and discard.

Add the diced vegetables and the sliced cabbage.

Finally, add the meatballs to the soup. Let simmer for 20 min.

Serve up in soup bowls and sprinkle with remaining Parmesan cheese.

I will rate these recipes on a scale from 1-4 being there are 4 people in our household.

Example: 1 out of 4 would mean 1 out of 4 people in this house liked this recipe. 😉

This recipe got a 4 out of 4! Incredibly everyone liked this recipe and my husband went back for a 2nd bowl! Always a good sign. But like I mentioned, this did tend to be a bit salty for us, so next time I will back off the salt and I will add the potatoes!! Geesh!

This was a great start to a new year of cooking with the Pioneer Woman! If you have made any of her recipes, I’d love to hear what it was and how you liked it!

Til next time, kids!

sjb

3 thoughts on “Italian Meatball Soup

    • I’ve really tried to stay away from processed food as well. They are full of junk. Pure junk! Yes, I fall back on them from time to time, but most of the time I cook from scratch! That is why I love PW so much! She does it old school. When I am not cooking from her cookbooks or blog posts, I am cooking from the 1959 Betty Crocker cookbook! 😉

Leave a Reply

