Love Dare: Day 1; Love Is Patient

Who’s ready to do a love dare?

This is the new journey I have been talking about! At the end of November I saw the movie Fireproof & it was one of those movies that shook me up & stuck with me for days afterwards. In fact, it’s still hanging with me. My marriage is not in trouble the way the marriage in the movie was. Not by a long shot. We’ve got a pretty good thing goin’. But there are areas that need some attention. Just like any marriage of 16 years, things have gone a bit stale. Our kid’s lives have taken over ours, day to day work has made us tired & has us stuck in a boring routine. I decided we needed a boost. After watching the movie, I thought the Love Dare would be a fun thing to try. If it works to save a failing marriage, it can surely work to breathe life back into a dull one, right?

Our 1st Christmas.      Dec. 1988

Our 1st Christmas.
Dec. 1988

So here I go. I am going to do the Love Dare challenges for the next 40 days. My husband, MKB from here on out, does not know I am doing this, so SSSSHHH! I want this to be my little gift to him. He has been such a wonderful husband & father, so I want to give back to him. I haven’t always been the best wife. I let hormones get the best of me & take it out on poor MKB. Last year my goal was to stop doing that. I did ok, but not great. This year I’m going to try harder and these love dares are just the thing to help me get jump started. Writing about them here will keep me accountable!

Dare #1:

Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Ephesians 4:2.

Love Is Patient. 

I am not. MKB certainly knows this. I can’t wait for anything. I’ve tried working on this in the past, but have always failed. I work with kids all day long & I can be patient with them, but for some reason I can’t hold onto my patience when it comes to MKB. If he doesn’t do something I’ve asked right away, I start to get fidgety. Then comes the nagging. Then the anger. Ugh…ugly! It is very fitting that the 1st Love Dare challenge is to demonstrate patience, remain calm & do not say 1 negative thing to MKB today.

“Anger is usually caused when the strong desire for something is mixed with disappointment or grief.” Yep. I’ll buy that. I am disappointed AND sad when I feel I’ve been ignored by MKB.

“It is a choice to control your emotions rather than allowing your emotions to control you, and shows discretion instead of returning evil for evil.” Ouch. I have to control my emotions around MKB. It is my choice. Be patient, be calm, stay positive. I can do this! I’ll report back tomorrow with how day 1 went & will share day #2’s challenge.

Til next time, kids…wish me luck!

sjb

If you would like to do the Love Dare Challenge, you can find the book on Amazon.com. Here is the handy dandy link: The Love Dare.  I am in no way compensated for sharing this challenge or the book. I just want everyone to have the chance to be happy 🙂

5 thoughts on “Love Dare: Day 1; Love Is Patient

  1. I am in, Sarah! I have the book, started this a couple of years ago, but stopped half way through, For the life of me I cannot remember why I stopped….hmmmmm. Anyway, I think this is as good a time as any to get back on the wagon! Thanks for the accountability and the motivation! Love ya! ❤

  2. Congratulations on doing the Love Dare! The movie Fireproof was fantastic and I have always wanted to do the Love Dare. I am participating in Women Living Well’s Valentine challenge, a good marriage always has room for imporovement and my attitude can make that change! ! Many blessings as you strive to be a greater blessing to your family.

    • I can’t wait for the Women Living Well Valentine’s Day challenge! Tomorrow I will be posting information on that for my readers!
      Thank you for your kind comments! I am experiencing so much joy during this challenge & learning a lot about myself & my husband along the way!
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

