Love Dare: Day 2; Love Is Kind

Here we are at day #2 in my Love Dare. Soon I’ll tell you what my challenge is for today, but first, the results of yesterdays challenge.

Yesterday I was challenged to stay calm, be patient and not say 1 negative thing to MKB. And like I new it would, a situation presented itself to test me.

MKB coaches our oldest daughter’s club basketball team, which makes me secretary by default I guess. He had asked me to make a phone call and get some questions answered for him. He wrote the questions down for me so I wouldn’t forget what to ask. Well, I misread one of his questions. Scratch that, I was in a hurry, so I scanned his list and didn’t really read it, so I didn’t get one of his questions answered and he questioned me about it. Normally in a situation like this I would get defensive, lose my temper and give him 40 excuses as to why I didn’t have time to read through his meticulous list and get all his answers and then I would rant for 30 minutes about not being his personal secretary. By this time I’d normally have called him a name or two also. I know, I’m lovely, aren’t I. Ick. But not this time. I kept calm, stayed patient and didn’t say 1 negative thing. Instead, I apologized, told him I had not read the whole list and that was my fault, I would call the people again and get his questioned answered. Phew. It was not easy. I repeat…NOT easy. But I felt really good afterwards. No tempers blown. No harsh words back and forth. It was very rewarding on my part. Who knew!

So challenge #1 is in the books and checked off as a success. And here is an added bonus, while at the gym later on, my youngest daughter and I were ready to go home, but he was still having his practice. I walked over to tell him we were gonna head home and he put his hand on my back, told me “ok, see you at home” and flashed me his heart melting MKB smile. Remember, part of my love language is physical touch, so that little touch from him made my night. The smile was icing on the cake because MKB has one heck of a handsome smile. 🙂

Love Dare #2:

Love Is Kind.

Be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving each other, just as God in Christ also has forgiven you. Ephesians 4:32

Today, in addition to not saying anything negative to MKB, I am also supposed to do at least one unexpected gesture as an act of kindness.

“Kindness is love in action.”
“Patience avoids a problem; kindness creates a blessing. One is preventative and one is proactive.”

I remember when I first fell in love with MKB. We were in high school and all I could think about

MKB's Senior Prom             1989

MKB’s Senior Prom
1989

was him. I would plan my day so that I could get even the smallest glance of him in the hallways and hopefully exchange smiles. I would think of little things I could do for him to show him I loved him or was thinking about him. I would leave little notes in his locker, make him a mix tape (remember those?) or would make him a friendship bracelet, what kids now call knot bracelets. I just wanted to do nice things for him. That is something I have never stopped doing. I am always trying to do acts of kindness for him because I appreciate him so much. He works harder than anyone I know and he doesn’t get much praise from his peers in return. It’s just not that kind of work environment. So I’ve always wanted to do what I can to let him know the girls and I love him and appreciate him.

This challenge IS a challenge because it states it needs to be unexpected. I’ll have to sit and think of something to do for him that I haven’t done in awhile. Or maybe there is something I haven’t done yet that I could try. But this is good. These are suppose to be a challenge, right?! Okay, I’ve got some work to do, so til next time, kids…

sjb

4 thoughts on “Love Dare: Day 2; Love Is Kind

  1. I think I’m ready to start the Love Dare. I have the book, just haven’t put it into action yet. Maybe I’m afraid? Anyway, thank you for your honesty – I too rush through things for a more-meticulous-than-myself husband, and then get defensive when I know I didn’t do it right. Thank God for a new day, for a chance to learn and try harder to please my husband and serve God!

    • Do it, Dana! You won’t regret it! I’m having a blast! It’s like dating all over again!

      I’d love if others would do it along with me & share their results here in the comments section!! 🙂

  2. Thank you for posting about your Love Dare and your honesty. Taking care of my marriage and showing my husband love is something I need to work on. Will be following along with you and will let you know how it goes! 🙂

    • You are welcome, Melanie! It is hard to be honest, and most of the time embarrassing, but I know life isn’t gumdrops and lollipops for most of us, so why not be real, right?

Leave a Reply

