Osso Buco

I have been so excited to share this with you! This is one yummy meal! And the fact that I cannot pronounce it makes me think it’s fancy too. Fancy & yummy is win~win in my book. 😉

There will be lots of “I did this instead” in this recipe, so pay attention! See, we live in a small town that doesn’t always carry everything a girl would hope for. So we are left to make do substitute. A lot. Also, this calls for veal shanks. Sorry, not gonna happen. I grew up on a farm. I saw calfs be born, I saw them wobble around while figuring out their first steps, I bottle fed a few. Just can’t do it. So already I was subbing beef short ribs for the veal because P.W. said I could. Yes, I see the irony, it’s still a cow. I can eat a cow, but just not a baby one. The cow lived a full life, the calf did not. That is my justification.

Osso Buco

8 veal shanks (right here I cringed), can sub beef short ribs. (here I sighed relief)

Kosher salt & black pepper to taste

2 tbls. butter

2 tbls. olive oil

3 garlic cloves, peeled

Two 12 oz. bottles dark beer (I used light beer b/c that is all we had)

One 28 oz. can whole tomatoes

1 rosemary sprig (left out for MKB)

1 thyme sprig (left out for MKB)

Preheat oven to 300 degrees (I went 350. I explain why below)

Season the beef short ribs…OR the country style PORK RIBS because I couldn’t even find beef short ribs at our store (GRRRRR!) with salt & pepper.

Heat the butter & oil in a heavy pot over high heat, then add…your meat of choice. ::eye roll::       And by the way, big thank you to my mom for the dutch over I got for Christmas. I have used it a zillion times already & each time the meals were delish!! Shout out to the mom in law too for PW’s cookbook! It has served us well!

Sear both sides of the meat until golden brown. Remove the meat from the pot & set aside.

Throw in the garlic cloves & add the beer. Allow to bubble & cook for 5 min. It smells SO good!

Return the meat to the pot

Crush the tomatoes with your hands & put them in the pot. What PW didn’t tell me is keep your hand low into the pot while crushing the tomatoes. I had seeds & tomato matter everywhere!

Throw in the herbs if you are using them, which I did not.

Cover the pot & cook in the oven for 3-4 hours, or until the sause is thick & the meat is fork tender.

IMG_3209

By this time MKB came in the kitchen to see what’s cookin’. He read the recipe & said “VEAL? Where did you get veal?” See, he even knows & he doesn’t grocery shop! I told him I was using pork ribs because I couldn’t even find beef short ribs to substitute. He said “Well that is pork.” Thank you Captain Obvious. I said “Ya. So?” He told me pork would take longer to cook. I listened to him because he has this annoying habit of always being right, but thank goodness I trusted my nose 2.5 hours into it, checked the PORK ribs & saw they were done to perfection, thankyouverymuch. I did have my oven set to 350 though, so keep that in mind if you use pork. 350 for 2.5 hours.

See how much fun we have at our house? Dontcha wish you lived here? Oy.

This was a very delicious meal. I give it a 4 out of 4 because everyone loved it. I know it’s not true Osso Buco because that evidently means veal included, but hey…do what you can with what you’ve got! 😉

I served it with homemade mac & cheese & green beans with light butter & seasoned pepper.

I served it with homemade mac & cheese, green beans tossed with light butter & seasoned pepper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was quick & easy too! Always a bonus in my kitchen!

Til next time, kids! Enjoy!

sjb

2 thoughts on “Osso Buco

Leave a Reply

