Love Dare, Day 10; Love is Unconditional

Good Monday to you all. Isn’t that an oxy moron? Good & Monday. Ha, ha. Anyway today is day #10 of the Love Dare.  Another week of improving my marriage begins….NOW!

God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8.

This chapter was interesting. Dr. Chapman talks about the reasons we list for loving our spouse: lookssense of humor, kindness, consistent character, etc. Then he posed the question, what would happen if one or all of those characteristics faded away over time. That isn’t out of the realm of possibilities. Would you still love your spouse or would you fall out of love? If your answer is yes, then you have what is called agape love for your spouse. It’s a love that can last a lifetime & is not determined by the one being loved, but by the one doing the loving.

Love Dare #10                

Love is Unconditional

Today I am to do something out of the ordinary today for MKB that proves to both of us that my love for him is based on my choice to love him, & nothing else. Not his hunky looks or is dry wit.

1990

1990

I posted on the simplysjb Facebook page that a while back I made the decision to focus on all the good things in my marriage. When I made that decision, I also decided I would love my huband no matter what…in sickness & in health, good times & bad, crabby or happy, etc. So I’ve already been really making an effort for a while to let MKB know he is the one for me for the rest of our lives, no matter what. When I do anything, I always consider how it will affect MKB. All plans I make, all thoughts I have, all conversations I have. Everything. I just think of it as being considerate of his feelings. After God, he is what is most important to me, followed closely by my two girls. It is high time I started treating him this way.

Even though I have been doing out of the ordinary kindness for him for a while now, I will do something special for him today. Just like everything else in this love dare, these challenges aren’t something I do for one day, move on & never do again. It is a building process. I have continued to stay positive & not say negative things to him, I have done random acts of kindness, I have greeted him warmly…I keep building on this love foundation every day.

MKB has a bad back & he asks me to rub it quite often. It’s something I don’t like to do because it requires a lot of strength. At the end of the day I am tired & just want to relax, but tonight, no matter how tired I am, I will rub his back without him having to ask me. It’s a nice way to show I choose to love him & choose to take care of him because I love him with agape love.

Til next time, kids…

sjb

3 thoughts on “Love Dare, Day 10; Love is Unconditional

  1. Fabulous! I love reading your perspective and your ideas. Isn’t it funny how growing up we think love just happens when it actually is a choice and takes hard work to show/give? I believe this is why so many marriages fail. True love means we put aside ourselves and give everything to others, just like Jesus did when He died for us….that is agape love in its finest….especially since I know I don’t deserve it. I am so thankful that His mercy and grace are enough. You inspire, my friend, you are a blessing! Daring to love along side you! 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Jen! It’s been a wonderful experience so far & I enjoy sharing it! I hope it’s going well for everyone else who is doing it along with us! 🙂
      I agree, I always thought I’d just fall in love. Never once did I think of it as a choice. But after the fairytale part fades away, it really is a choice to stay together & love each other forever.

Leave a Reply

