Love Dare, Day 18: Love Seeks to Understand

img021When I first met MKB I wanted to know everything about him. Over the course of our first dates, I learned his favorite color, his birthdate and all about his family. Nothing was too mundane. Even learning his phone number was exciting. But that may be because I asked his ex-girlfriend to give it to me. Ya, I was gutsy when I was young. And stupid.

You may think that after getting married you know all about your spouse. I know I think I do. But The Love Dare book says we don’t. There is always something new to discover about that mate of yours.  I guess that makes sense. Over the years, my tastes have changed. For example, what MKB knew as my favorite color when we were dating, pink, is not what it is now, red. When he buys me flowers he’ll still buy me pink roses because that is what he thinks is my favorite color. I guess I’ve never told him my favorite color had changed.

The book says we are to sit down & get to know each other again. We need to talk & learn what has changed in our spouses preferences. My example is a simple one, but there may be some big changes in what your spouse used to like & now may greatly dislike, or vise versa. It is very important to do this reconnect exercise so you are all on the same page again. This may be more fun now that some LIFE has happened to each of you. You’ve both made mistakes, learned from them & changed some attitudes. Some for the better & some for the worse. But you can’t deny that each of you has changed over the years, so it only makes sense to learn who each other is now. As a parent, as a child of older parents, as a husband…remember he wasn’t always your husband! So he’s grown & learned in this role just as you have in your role as wife.

Love Dare # 18

Love Seeks To Understand

Today’s Dare:

Prepare a special dinner at home, just for the two of you. The dinner can be as nice as you prefer. Focus on this time on getting to know your spouse better, perhaps in areas you’ve rarely talked about. Determine to make it an enjoyable evening for the two of you.

We have a game to go to tonight, so I won’t be doing this dare this evening. I do plan, however, to make this a part of our Valentine’s Day dinner I am planning. 🙂 Keep up the love everyone!

Til next time, kids…

sjb

Leave a Reply

