Love Dare, Day 19: Love Is Impossible

Love is impossible? That is discouraging! But as I read on, I understood. If you don’t have love for yourself, it is hard to give love to anyone else.

This chapter is one of self discovery. I have a lot of issues with showing deep love because I have a lot of self doubt, guilt & disappointment in myself. I feel more negatives than positives about myself. By not finding what is good in myself & learning to love it, I can’t find the good in MKB, or anyone for that matter, to truly love.

On the surface things appear great, on the inside, lots of self doubt.            April 2004

On the surface things appear great, on the inside, lots of self doubt.
April 2004

Sure, we can manufacture kindness, do unselfish things for each other, but having that true agape love for another simply is impossible unless you have the love of God in your heart. If you have trouble believing that, think back to all the times you’ve failed in love. Failed to stop lying, control your anger or held a grudge. The book says that it is these actions that prove  our sinful condition. We need the help of God to overcome these shortcomings. God is the true source of love, so we need to be right with him, believe in his love for us & lean on that love always. Because you can’t give what you don’t have! If you don’t have love, you can’t give love.

This is impossible, but with God all things are possible.

Matthew 19:26

Love Dare #19

Love Is Impossible

Today’s Dare:

Look back over the dares from previous days. Were there some that seemed impossible to you? Have you realized your need for God to change your heart and give you the ability to love? Ask him to show you where you stand with him, and ask for the strength and grace to settle your eternal destination.

Very short post today, kids. But use the extra time to reflect back & really search your heart while doing today’s dare. Have a wonderful weekend!

sjb

6 thoughts on “Love Dare, Day 19: Love Is Impossible

  1. Sarah — it makes so much sense, doesn’t it? You can’t love others unless you love yourself — I’m in the same boat. I love a lot of people, and yet find it so easy to beat myself up for all of my transgressions and mental hiccups. It’s been one of the last and most difficult hurdles I’ve had to clear in my personal turnaround, but at least as long as we keep trying to get over that hurdle, there is still hope.

Leave a Reply

