Going Yeast Free!

Hi ya, Kids! I posted on Facebook that I’d be going yeast free for the next two weeks & asked if you’d be interested in going along for the ride! You all said YEAH!, so here we go!

Why Go Yeast Free?

4 years ago I was diagnosed with Epstein Barr Syndrome. I’ve talked about it a few times on the blog, but I try not to dwell on it. I am very lucky that I do not have a severe case & I function pretty normally & most of the time don’t even realize I have it. It is something that will be with me always, so I try to watch what I eat, go to bed at descent times & TRY to keep stress to a minimum. None of those things are easy, but when you are forced to do something, you don’t have much choice.

Symptoms of EBV are fatigue, brain fog, blurry eye sight, muscle aches & pains, joint pain, etc. Nothing fun, but like I said, I’m lucky that I don’t suffer greatly from most of these symptoms. Sometimes if you talk to me & I look perplexed & can’t find the words I’m looking for, it’s not because I’m a ditzy blonde, it’s because of the EBV. I can deal with the other symptoms pretty well. The one thing I am plagued with & annoys me to NO end is an itchy body rash. I have searched & searched online to see if this is a symptom of EBV. I found that it is, but it is a rare one, therefore, not much is written on how to deal with it. Leave it to me to have a rare symptom of a nasty disease. Oh well, such is my life. It has taken me all 4 years to narrow down where my rash is coming from. I literally JUST found the cause this week!

I have an over growth of yeast in my body.

This is very common in someone with EBV. It is also very common in most Americans. Causes of yeast over growth are:

1. Stress
2.   Use of broad spectrum antibiotics
3.   Hormonal imbalances
– Caused by birth control pills
– Caused by multiple pregnancies
– Caused by hormone therapy for a variety of symptoms
4.  Steroids which weaken several defense mechanisms of our immune system
5.   Frequent and chronic infections
6.  Extensive surgery
7.  Food allergy and malabsorption
8.  Deficiency of micro-nutrients (vitamins, minerals, amino acids, anti-oxidants)
9.  Faulty nutrition, metabolic roller-coaster
10. Substance abuse

*info taken from http://www.majidali.com/yeast.htm

I had narrowed down my rash to happening only when I sweat. If I’m nervous & sweat a little, I break out. If I work out & sweat a lot, I break out. It didn’t matter how much I would sweat, the break out would be the same: forearms, thighs, the side of my knees & the back of my neck/shoulder blade area. I typed “skin rash from sweating” into my search engine & up popped Yeast Overgrowth. The yeast is clogging my skin, not allowing it to sweat & cool itself off, so I break out in a rash. A very nasty, itchy rash. Gross, right. Ya, I know.

I had known that limiting my yeast was something that would help me with my EBV, but I wasn’t committed enough to do a full detox to rid my body of it…if you remember I tried it a month ago & lost interest. I mean, come on…no sugar, WINE, grains or dairy. What’s left?? Not much.

But now that I know this is the cause of my rash, I am determined to see it the whole way through. The rash is THAT bad.

I told MKB what I had found out & that I was really going to do it this time & being the sweet guy that he is, he said he’d do it with me. 🙂 He’d like to get in better shape & this really is a great way to get started!

Alright, now you know my why. Tomorrow I will post my grocery list & menu plan for the first week. I’m so sad that I won’t get my nightly glass of red wine, but hopefully this will be the cure I’m looking for & after a while, I can reintroduce wine back into my diet. Please God, let me be able to reintroduce wine back into my diet. I just got a new wine glass. Her name is Big Betty & I love her very much. If you watch Cougar Town, you’d understand that last statement a bit better. cougar-town-big-carl

Until next time, kids!

A soon to be yeast free sjb

Leave a Reply

