Use Oil to Clean Your Face?!

In a minute I’m going to share with you my new facial cleanser & moisturizer that I literally grabbed from my cupboard. Oil!! Eeew! But first I want to update you on my progress with the yeast free diet.

I FEEL GREAT! Sorry to yell, but man! I was expecting by today to feel run down, upset stomach, headache, etc. That is what I read I would feel anyway. But instead I feel energized, lighter, less cobwebs in the brain & HAPPY! And last night I passed my first big test. I was at a meeting & at the end they always serve a scrumptious dessert. Last night it was build your own sundae. Ice cream is my downfall. I love it, I love the toppings even more & they had all my favorites. But I was a good girl & grabbed a glass of water & chatted while the other ladies enjoyed their delicious looking sundaes. What surprised me is I didn’t feel cheated. In fact the ice cream didn’t even look good to me. Wow. That is simply amazing to me!

Measurement report:

Weight: Lost 3 lbs!

Waist: 35″ (when I say waist, I mean the blubber right below my belly button)

Thighs: 21″

Arms: 11.5″

Today I finally remembered to measure my muffin top, tree trunks & bat wings, so I’m not sure if I’ve lost any inches yet, but I will measure myself again on Friday & see if I’m making any progress in those areas. I know my tummy is shrinking because of the belt notch happy dance I got to do yesterday! 😉

Todays Meals:

Breakfast: Pomegranate oatmeal & coffee drink

Lunch: It’s looking like egg or tuna salad will finally have to make an appearance. 😦

Supper: Cube Steak, mashed potatoes & gravy, vegetable medley

Snacks: Pumpkin seeds & almonds, yogurt

Now onto my fun find that I couldn’t wait to share with you!!

Cleaning Your Face With Oil! olive-oil-extra-virgin-with-olives_500x300

I have been so excited to share this with you guys because it sounds so gross, but the results are AMAZING!

I read on My Merry Messy Life about the oil cleansing method. That’s right, OIL!! Sounds so wrong doesn’t it? I pictured rubbing my face with a French fry when I first read it! But as I read on, it all started to make sense!

Oil, contrary to popular belief does not cause acne. Hormones, bacteria & dirt do. In fact, your body produces oil, or sebum to repair itself of the oils name brand cleansers strip from your face! I know this is true because I would wash my face at night & wake up in the morning & find my face feeling & looking like an oil slick. So I’d fix this by re-washing my face & slathering on a heavy moisturizer. What I didn’t know was I was in a vicious cycle of stripping my face of it’s natural oils (again) & replacing them with synthetic moisturizer. Later in the day I’d have a greasy looking face & usually would have a few break-outs to go along with it. Lovely.

Cleansing with oil boils down to this simple chemistry: Oil dissolves oil. I only lasted 3 weeks in high school chemistry, but even I can understand this! By putting oil on your face, it will remove your make-up & dissolve the dirt on your face, leaving it clean & moisturized because it is working with your body to replace the oils it has been so desperately trying to produce. *Little helpful side note, you can use oil to wipe off the oily grime around your stove’s vent because of this same concept!! Again, it sounds so wrong but is OH so right! 🙂

What You Will Need:

Castor Oil

Extra Virgin Olive Oil, or any other carrier oil, such as sunflower, almond or jojoba

Optional: an essential oil such as Tea Tree Oil to fight acne prone skin

Here is the “recipe” for the different face types, courtesy of My Merry Messy Life:

  • Oily Skin – 1 part Castor Oil to 2 parts other oil, or 30% Castor Oil and 70% other oils
  • Combination Skin – 1 part Castor Oil to 4 parts other oil, or 20% Castor Oil and 80% other oils
  • Dry Skin – 1 part Castor Oil to 9 parts other oil, or 10% Castor Oil to 90% other oils

The process to follow makes me feel like I’m in my own personal spa each evening!

  • Take your oil mixture & rub between your fingers to warm the oil
  • Massage the oil into your face for at least a minute. This feels so good because you can literally feel the junk dissolving from your face!
  • Take a warm, moist towel & lay it over your face. I gently press it into areas such as around my nose, chin & forehead. When the towel has cooled off, remove it.
  • Take the towel & gently (!) wipe off the oil & junk. Don’t rub or scrub, just gently wipe.

You are now left with a clean, naturally moisturized face. When I wake up in the morning my face is not overly oily like it used to be. And there are no dry, flakey areas either, which I sometimes get, in the winter especially. I don’t even need to moisturize in the morning before I put my make-up on. And no, my face does not look greasy as the day wears on. My make-up has never looked better! MKB says I even glow! ::blush::

Another thing I’ve noticed is my over-sized pores are not as noticeable. My face looks smooth & supple! If I could get rid of my sun spots, I would have no problem going make-up free! The oil cleansing method is THAT good!!

One more observation…after I am done cleansing my face, I take the oil that is remaining on my fingers & rub it into my hands. I’ve got old woman hands. Lots of little lines & wrinkles. Not pretty at all. But since I’ve been putting the oil on my hands, they also look supple & line free! Amazing!! Same goes for my lips! They are looking plump & moisturized. Not chapped & thin! Oil is simply amazing!!

You may experience a few break-outs when you start using the oil facial cleanser, but what is happening is the junk is getting drawn out from deep down. Soon you will have a pimple free face that is perfectly balanced! You will be so impressed! After one week, I am!!

This is just one of the “homemade” health & beauty recipes I am trying. As I try more, such as homemade shampoo, I will share them with you & my experience in using them! The way I look at it, if I am working this hard to cleanse my body from the inside, why shouldn’t I work as hard to find better ways to cleanse my outside! 😉

Til next time, kids! Remember to keep it simple cause life doesn’t have to be hard!

sjb

Leave a Reply

