Living Within Margin

TIPS-00017084-001

My Ideal Life! 

 

I miss blogging. Every time I take stock of my crazy life, deciding what needs to go, what needs to stay & what I need to bring back, blogging is always at the top of the list of things to come back.
I sit down to write a killer post (in my egotistic mind) & I keep it up for a week or 2 & then it fades away. Writing is the first to go when I start to get busy & bogged down.

That’s so sad. Something that I love to do is the first to go. It’s sad that I’m so busy that I can’t take time out to pour out my thoughts, because that is really what I use this blog for. I don’t try to earn money from it or try to become super popular with my sparkling wit & infinite wisdom I share here. (being so sarcastic right now incase you didn’t know) But it’s cathartic to be able to write my feelings! It feels amazing to get them off my mind & onto the screen. I share them because I think that maybe someone else out there needs to hear they are not the only one. Even if one person reads about my experience & can relate, I feel that I’ve done the right thing in sharing.

So that brings me to living within margin. I had no idea this was a thing. Margins to me were lines on the side of notebook paper to keep your work looking neat. Then I went to church.
Our sermon series has been about living within margin & it has touched my soul. I sat there listening to our pastors tell why we need it, why we don’t have it & how we can get it back & I probably looked like a bobble head sitting in the pew. Well, we sit in very comfy chairs…but same thing. I agreed that I NEED this…NOW.

I went home & went right to researching more about this “margin” thing. It’s really not that hard to do…on paper. But to implement it into real life. Oh my stars.
First you need to identify what motivates you. What makes you get out of bed in the morning? Excitement to read your bible & spend time with God? Nope, I was doing that every day & gave that up to get 15 minutes more sleep when the time changed. Last spring.
Work? I suppose, but I do both my jobs from home. I don’t need makeup or have to jump into an uncomfortable suit. Nor do I have to rush out the door & fight traffic while eating a stale bagel & spilling hot coffee all over my uncomfortable suit. My work life is pretty chill for the most part.
To make money? Ahhh! We have a winner. I need to make the money so I can buy the things & pay the bills. That stinks. Money is my motivator. I’m putting it before all else.

Ok, so I’ve identified my motivator & learned it’s a sin. Feeling AWESOME about this margin thing. (eye roll x 1000) Now I have to figure out what is sucking my time away from me. I didn’t even have to think on this. Social media. I spend too much time on it because I run my 2nd job solely through social media. I love it, too. It’s fun & since I AM at home all day, getting to talk with adults from across the country (did you know that people in the UK call you sweet things like Lovey & end every conversation with hugs & kisses!) is a nice break…which is when I do my 2nd business. In the corporate world, people take breaks at 10, noon & 2 typically, so that is when I stop & jump on Facebook & other social media outlets to do my makeup biz. But I also am on it early in the morning & most of the evening. In come the margins. I need to skip it in the morning & start setting an OFF switch at night. We used to have a family rule, no more phones after 8 pm. Maybe that needs to come back. Not maybe…it does.
Other time suckers can be: work obsessed, clubs, kids activities (too many of them!) TV, video games, etc. Pretty much anything that is taking you away from your family too often.

Identify Motivator. Check.
Identify Time Sucker. Check.

Now time to start making the cuts & rearrange my life.
First thing I want to do is start having my quiet time with God again. No more Facebook or messenger first thing in the morning! I remember how that always made the rest of my day go better. God first. Always.
Next, start blogging more. Even if I don’t share every post, just sit & write! It makes me feel GOOD! It’s a keeper!
Next will be setting the time limits on my social media time/online work.
I might actually have to sit down & write this all out like a monthly budget. I am a visual person & if I see my time all laid out in front of me, I might stick to it better. Hopefully after a short while this will become my new routine & my new, less stressed life! EXCITING!

Do YOU need margins in your life or do you already have it all together? PLEASE!!! If you do, share how you got there! I can use all the inspiration I can get!

sjb

Leave a Reply

